First Impressions

April 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

In business, like in life, you only get one chance to make a first impression. Having just come from the public relations agency world I know one of the first chances you get is your website. It’s one of the keys to successfully building awareness of your company, product or self. A website can create legitimacy and gives an organization or person credibility for what they do and offer. But just because you have a website does that mean people will automatically go there, or even trust what you’re saying? One can only hope…and it’s truly all in the presentation and content.

In my career I’ve promoted numerous websites and web companies, some good and some not so good.  I know how important it is to make a good first impression with this tool. Websites need to be an honest representation of who you are and what you do…plain and simple. And by plain and simple I mean not with a lot of big words and crazy images that take away from your real message. Believe it or not, some of the biggest turnoffs for people when it comes to websites are useless clutter, bad pictures and too many words.

As I was working on the website for jComm Media I found myself writing like I was still part of big public relations agency. I was using too many jargon/industry words when describing myself and the services I wanted to offer. In fact, according to what I was writing, I was going to provide services that not only could I not do on my own, but I didn’t want to do anymore! To say the red pen was in overdrive with editing is an understatement. This was such a liberating exercise for me in that I was now able to clearly talk about who I was, what I did…and wanted to do…and why I even wanted a website in the first place. The irony of taking my own advice that I’d given clients through the years was definitely not lost on me!

The final product, in my opinion, is clean, simple, straightforward and to the point – I’m an independent communications and media consultant who wants to help lifestyle-oriented small businesses and individuals with their specific public relations needs by providing them with a variety of affordable options. No muss, no fuss…and hopefully a good first, and lasting impression.

I want to give a huge shout out to Matt Stellwagen of 540 Design Studio for his amazing work! Matt is so creative and really knows his stuff. He was so patient and worked with me on all my crazy edits! Thanks Matt!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading First Impressions at Judy's Corner.

meta

