Just another day at the office…

June 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today I worked in my backyard! That’s a pretty neat trick seeing as I live in a hi-rise, but by backyard I mean that 843-acre space I share with my 8 million neighbors in New York City – Central Park! No, I wasn’t playing hooky, I was actually working. Really!

My partner-in-crime, Desirée Flores, and I were with new client, Patrick Populorum of Central Park Fitness Tours. Thankfully we decided to conduct our tour on one of the most beautiful summer days of the year full of lots of sun, blue skies and no humidity (sorry to my friends in Houston!).

Central Park Fitness Tours is a new company that offers a number of customizable fitness training packages that highlight some of the most recognizable areas of the park and introduce hidden gems not even known to most locals. Trust me, I have lived here for almost 10 years and saw parts of the park today I never knew existed!

Our tour guide, Patrick!

Our tour guide, Patrick, is an awesome personal fitness trainer and self-proclaimed Central Park historian who has been training clients in the park for years. In addition to fitness, his other trade is theatre and stand-up comedy and this combination makes for a fun, fitness-filled afternoon in the country’s greatest urban playground!

While I don’t run marathons, I do have a regular workout routine, and that’s a good thing. Today’s tour was not only full of an insider’s account of the great history that lies within the park, but along the way we had a serious workout and definitely broke a sweat!

William Shakespeare at the start of the Literary Walk

We started at the Literary Walk in front of Shakespeare and ended at the Delacorte Theatre, home to Shakespeare in the Park. Along the way we ran to the Band Shell, through the Mall, to the Bethesda Fountain (known as the center of the park), over the Bow Bridge, on to the Ramble and to the top of Belvedere Castle. Whew!

Bethesda Fountain – Center of the NYC!

Tonight, I can’t move! No, not really, but I’ll definitely feel it all in the morning. If you’re looking for a unique way to see one of New York City’s top destinations accompanied by an energetic, knowledgeable tour guide…and get in a little exercise along the way, I highly recommend Patrick and Central Park Fitness Tours. You can contact him directly at patrickpopulorum@yahoo.com. Don’t worry, if you just want to do a walking tour, you can!

Desiree & Judy at Belvedere Castle…we made it!

Central Park is by far one of my favorite places in the city, and lucky for me, I live two blocks away and enjoy it all the time. I guess it really is like my own backyard!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just another day at the office… at Judy's Corner.

meta

