Make Me Laugh!

June 5, 2012 § Leave a comment

If you’re like me you are constantly looking for ways to get your child to do what you want them to do at any given time of the day or night. Whether it’s listening, eating, sleeping, getting dressed, picking up toys or simply shutting their mouths and stop talking. Why do little kids talk so much…and so loudly too? Although in Jack’s case, it’s probably hereditary.

Parents everywhere hear phrases like: “I don’t want to do that,” or “I don’t know how to do that,” or my all-time favorite, “but do you know why I don’t want to do that?” when asking their children to do or not do the simplest of tasks. We’ve heard it all and in many cases, probably invented the phrases long ago.

Parents today have to get crafty when it comes to “negotiating” with our children in order to get them to do what we want. Let’s face it; kids are so much smarter today (although I’m sure our parents said the same thing!)…or maybe parents are just too exhausted to fight them. Well, I’m not (most times) and because of that, Jack doesn’t stand a chance!

My husband and I believe Jack is going to become a lawyer because he rarely listens and is always negotiating with us. Reverse psychology games like “don’t eat your vegetables because they’re really bad for you…no, I mean it, don’t do it…” rarely works for us. No, we need stronger ammo when dealing with Jack.

Recently I remembered a game show my mom and I used to watch religiously called, Make Me Laugh. If you’re not familiar, the premise of the show was the contestant had to last 60 seconds enduring the ridiculous humor of three different stand-up comedians who did his/her shtick directly in their face. They really weren’t very funny so that’s probably why it was so hard not to laugh. The prize was $1 a second and if they made it the whole 60 seconds without laughing their money doubled. It was the 1970s after all.

Make Me Eat Dinner…with the ATM Machine in the background!

This gave me a great idea for Jack. No, I don’t walk around the house trying to make him laugh and telling him not to laugh, but I do play a new version of the game with him. Make Me Listen, Make Me Eat, Make Me Get Dressed, Make Me Take a Bath, etc. Each time he completes the task within a certain amount of time I give him a coin for his piggy bank (or in his case, his ATM Machine – don’t ask!). If he completes all the tasks I give him a dollar and voila, mission accomplished! Bribery? Maybe. More like negotiating with a top negotiator.

Make Me Take a Bath!

Thanks to YouTube, I was able to find an old episode of Make Me Laugh and Jack and I watched it together. He loved it, but started laughing right away. He obviously would have not won on that show.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Make Me Laugh! at Judy's Corner.

meta

