Wastin’ Away in Margaritaville!

July 9, 2012 § Leave a comment

I know you’re singing along now. Well so is my 4-year old son…and he knows all the words! Should I be laughing or crying?

As I’ve mentioned before, Jack has an incredible memory and most times he just has to hear something once and he remembers it. This is both a blessing and curse. Because I know this about him I like to point out every chance I get when he pretends to not hear, understand or remember things I say to him when it comes to his behavior. Let’s just say I have his number.

So no surprise that he is beginning to remember lyrics to songs. Of course, most 4-year olds are listening to “Wheels on the Bus” and “Apples and Bananas.” (Although I actually have a friend whose son is listening to Katy Perry!) Jack listens to the classic children’s songs too, but he’s definitely moving on from that song list.

I’ve always had an eclectic taste in music, probably due to my years in the radio and music industries, and my iPod reflects my choices. Jack mastered the inner workings of all-things electronic at a very young age. For example: he has changed the language setting on the iPhone to Spanish and keeps resetting the pass code! Now he has totally figured out how to find and select music too. His personal favorites include the Rolling Stones, Aerosmith, Genesis and lately, Jimmy Buffet. To be fair, when he was an infant we downloaded all the lullaby versions of our favorite rock and roll bands and he’s been listening to songs like “Stairway to Heaven” and “Hotel California” for years now. When he used to go into full on “I want this now” mode, I would reply by saying that you can’t always get what you want. That’s when I introduced him to the Rolling Stones.

Jack and his favorite shirt!

His latest obsession, however, is Margaritaville. We have had daily dance parties and sing-a-longs to the degree that I’m ready to drink a big Margarita, or take a big shot of tequila…or both. Last summer we took a vacation to Key West and you guessed it, went to Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville store to properly outfit Jack. This is now his favorite shirt.

I guess I should be happy that he hasn’t discovered the music of today yet because like my parents with my early musical taste, I totally don’t get it! Gosh I sound like an old geezer. So for now I’ll just sit back and don’t worry…be happy! Final note – I always I thought it was, “Wasted away again in Margaritaville…,” not “Wastin’ away…!” You obviously know where my mind always was…I’m glad it took Jack to set me straight!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wastin’ Away in Margaritaville! at Judy's Corner.

meta

